Academic Calendar

Fall 2016 and Spring 2017 Academic Calendars

The Ithaca College academic calendar for fall and spring semesters through 2017 may be found at http://www.ithaca.edu/acadcal/index.php.

Fall 2016

Semester coursesBegin Wed., August 24, 8:00 a.m. End Fri., December 11
Block IBegins Wed., August 24, 8:00 a.m. Ends Wed., October 12, 10:00 p.m.
Labor DayMon., September 5 — no classes in session
Fall breakBegins Wed., October 12, 10:00 p.m. Ends Sun., October 16
Block IIBegins Mon., October 17, 8:00 a.m. Ends Fri., December 9
Thanksgiving breakBegins Fri., November 18, 4:00 p.m. Ends Sun., November 27
Final examinationsBegin Mon., December 12, 7:30 a.m. End Fri., December 16, 10:00 p.m.
Deadlines to Note
Add/dropWed., August 31 — semester course
Wed., August 31 — block I
Sun., October 23 — block II
Request S/D/F optionTues., September 14 — semester course
Fri., September 2 — block I
Wed., October 26 — block II
Withdraw with W; revoke S/D/F optionWed., November 2 — semester course
Wed., September 28 — block I
Fri., November 18 — block II
Register for following semesterMon., November 7 - Fri., November 11
Apply for graduationWed., September 7 — December 2016 graduation
Fri., November 11 — May 2017 graduation
Grades due to registrarWed., October 19, 10:00 p.m. — midterm
Fri., December 30, 12:00 noon — final

Spring 2017

Semester coursesBegin Mon., January 23, 8:00 a.m. End Fri., May 5
Block IBegins Mon., January 25, 8:00 a.m. Ends Fri., March 10
Spring breakBegins Fri., March 10, 4:00 p.m. Ends Sun., March 19
Block IIBegins Mon., March 20, 8:00 a.m. Ends Fri., May 5
Final examinationsBegin Mon., May 8, 7:30 a.m. End Fri., May 12, 10:00 p.m.
CommencementSun., May 21
Deadlines to Note
Request S/D/F optionMon., February 13 — semester course
Wed., February 1 — block I
Wed., March 29 — block II
Grades due to registrarWed., March 22, 10:00 p.m. — midterm
Wed., May 17, 10:00 p.m. — final
Register for following semesterMon., TBA - Fri., TBA
Apply for graduationWed., March 29 — Summer 2016 graduation
Withdraw with W; revoke S/D/F optionFri., March 31 — semester course
Mon., February 27 — block I
Fri., April 21 — block II

Residence Hall Openings and Closings

Residence hall openings and closings may be found at the website for the Office of Residential Life: http://www.ithaca.edu/reslife/guide/opening_closings_breaks/opening_closing_dates.

The dates and times below are subject to change.

Fall 2016

Sunday, August 14Open for all Circle Apartment residents 9:00 a.m.
Sunday, August 21Open for all students 9:00 a.m.
Saturday, November 19Close for all students 12:00 noon
Sunday, November 27Reopen for all students 12:00 noon
Saturday, December 17Close for all students 12:00 noon

Spring 2017

Saturday, January 21Open for all students 9:00 a.m.
Saturday, March 11Close for all students 12:00 noon
Sunday, March 19Open for all students 12:00 noon
Saturday, May 13Close for all non-graduating students 3:00 p.m.
Monday, May 22Close for all remaining students except Circle Apts. residents 12:00 noon
Sunday, July 8Close for Circle Apartments residents 5:00 p.m.

Winter Session 2017

Classroom coursesBegin Monday, January 9, 2017
Final examinationsEnd Friday, January 20, 2017

The Ithaca College Winter Session academic calendars through 2019 may be found at http://www.ithaca.edu/winter/wintercalendar/

Summer Session 2017

ClassesMay Session - May 15-26
Session I - May 30-June 30
Session II - July 3-Aug 4
Last day to ADDMay Session - May 15
Session I - May 31
Session II - July 5
Last day to DROPMay Session - May 15
Session I - May 31
Session II - July 5
Grades DueMay Session - June 1
Session I - July 6
Session II - August 9
Final examinationsFinal day of session

The Ithaca College Summer Sessions academic calendars through Summer 2019 may be found at: http://www.ithaca.edu/summer/calendar